[dropcap]T[/dropcap]he history of the Department of Immunology goes back to 1971 when the “Institute of Immunology”, headed by Dr. Bernhard Cinader, was created. The Institute (1971-1980) was the first formal organization of immunologists in Toronto. The goal was to enhance communication among investigators who shared a common interest in the fundamental questions related to the development and function of the immune system. The individuals involved were located throughout Toronto. Professor Cinader was a strong advocate for immunology research in Canada and he was also the founder and first president of the Canadian Society of Immunology (1966-1969) and of the International Union of Immunological Societies (1969-1974).

MSB Open House, Oct 7-9, 1970.
MSB Open House, Oct 7-9, 1970.

In the early seventies, immunology research was beginning to take-off. Dynamic theories such as clonal selection and self-non-self discrimination as the basis for the maintenance of tolerance and autoimmunity attracted investigators from a broad spectrum of biological sciences. These studies created a strong foundation in immunology research and still serve as pillars for our current understanding of the immune system.

In 1984, Drs. Cinader, Miller, and many others persuaded the Dean of Medicine to bestow a 2 million dollar endowment from Mr. Charles Gould Easton into the creation of the Department of Immunology. On July 1st, the department received its academic status within the Faculty of Medicine at the University of Toronto. The inaugural chair, Dr. Richard Miller, from the Ontario Cancer Institute, began to recruit investigators from various locations around Toronto. A year later, with enthusiasm from Dr. Brian Barber, a new undergraduate specialist program in Immunology was created at the University of Toronto. Concurrent with this, the department became associated with Trinity College, mainly with the help of Dr. Robert Painter, who was the incoming Provost of the college and a member of the emergent Department of Immunology.

In the years to follow, the recruitment of a critical mass of investigators to the Medical Sciences Building on the St. George Campus was paralleled with the development of strong ties, maintained through academic appointments, with immunologists residing in the growing number of research institutes associated with the University of Toronto’s affiliated teaching hospitals.

The Department of Immunology continued to expand in the early to mid 90’s, with Dr. Michael Julius serving as its second chair. During this period, the integration of the department with the University’s affiliated hospital-based research institutes was fully in place and thriving.

As the new millennium started, Dr. Michael Ratcliffe took over as chair of the department. During this recent period, the constituency of faculty within the Medical Sciences Building re-expanded, as did that from across the rest of the city. This included an expansion of the Department to the Sunnybrook Research Institute.

Since our start, the Department has graduated about 130 M.Sc. and 150 Ph.D. students, with many of them now working in academia (45%) or in the industry and business (30%) sectors.

Today the burgeoning Department is internationally recognized, with its fourth and current chair, and is comprised of approximately 45 faculty members finding answers to and making discoveries about the immune system in 7 different locations across Toronto.

The following two tabs change content below.

Juan Carlos Zúñiga-Pflücker

Latest posts by Juan Carlos Zúñiga-Pflücker (see all)

Previous post Letter from the Chair – Winter 2012
Next post The Adaptive Immune System: Is It All It Seems to Be?

One thought on “A Brief History of the Department of Immunology

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Feed currently unavailable. Check us out on Twitter @immpressmag for more.